A Postcard from Ménerbes

Wish you were here!!!

Wow. I am in love! (Yes, again… how can I not fall in love with all these charming French villages?)

As you’ll recall, when I wrote last, Francis and I had decided that Avignon was not right for our new Live-Like-a-Local Sojourn in Provence… so, we were on the hunt for someplace more charming and off-the-beaten-path for our guests. And, we found it!!! Ménerbes.

We headed out to take a peek at some of the villages that rank among France’s most beautiful, starting in Ménerbes. Talk about getting off to a good start! –I was instantly seduced by the sweeping views, the soft elegance of the shutters and doors in various sophisticated grey-toned colors, the vegetation, the pride reflected in the well-maintained buildings… now this is the kind of place I envision my guests strolling around!

Ménerbes is in the Luberon region which was made famous to the English-speaking world by Peter Mayle’s witty accounts of the travails of living here and renovating a home while being English. (Check out Sojourner Tours booklist –we’ve got his book listed first because it is one of my favorites.) This village certainly made me fantasize about buying an old place here to renovate. At least if I can’t live here, I can bring my guests here.

I instantly wanted to add it to the itinerary and the deal was sealed when I saw that the “House of Truffles and Luberon Wine” is located here. If I have one weakness, it is truffles. I don’t like truffles: I LOVE TRUFFLES!!!! Heaven, for me, is a multi-course meal featuring these intoxicatingly fragrant mushrooms in a classical French garden overlooking the mountains… oh Ménerbes! Wow. It should be named “Heaven”.

Yep. Francis is going to have to figure out a way to make this work in the budget because my guests deserve this experience.

-Lisa (Sojourner Tours Owner)

Lisa 2016 Ménerbes

 

6 thoughts on “A Postcard from Ménerbes

Leave a Reply

